Adamu Danjuma
2 min readJan 31, 2021

A Song of Africa by a Son of Africa

A continent with amazing grace and beautiful sun, Africa is my hope. I am one of Africa’s many children. And, yeah: I am because, you, my dear brethren, are!

Beaten by the sword of violence, Abandoned by centuries of distress,
Do I still have to wear the clothes tore by the drought?
Do I still have to let my neighbour look after my pot of assorted food?
Do I still have to drink my blood to quench my thirst?

Like a lion in the jungle, I refuse to be defeated and buried in the pages of insidiously-written books of history! My sore tears of yesteryears now taste like salt. My heavyweight-head is like a baobab tree shacking its leaves under the blueish sky. My squeaky voice speaks lots of love, hope and freedom.
My spinal cord is a gateway to the citadel of fraternity. My skeleton is the map of Africa, cradle of humanity in its entirety!

Today, I am like a piece of peace laying sleepily in the milk that fills the breast of every friendly and caring mother!

I am the water you drink everyday,
You, poor, and your brothers, rich.
I’m not an attribute of death!
I’m life. Live me or leave me.
I’m the wealth being sought.
I, too, deserve equity.
I’m fragile like an egg.
Do not break me into smaller parts like a broken glass dispersed all over the place. Here is my place!

Africa is my appellation!
Call it with pride and dignity.
Hold Africa onto your heart,
Use it like a flag; it is your identity!

Africa is yours, so is mine.
Abuse it not but, in unison,
Let's guard it.
Africa is our property and the continent we have inherited from our unshakeable, indefatigable, meritorious and victorious forefathers.

Come to me. I am Africa!
I am all yours. Come to me.
Oh, live, my children! Live!
Live in spite of all the hassles of life, live! Live on, dear all!

Adamu Danjuma

Author of Les Larmes d'une Plume Esseulée, Adamu is a multilingual speaker & an emerging poet-writer. He's passionate about journalism & literature.