BELOVED

(A Fictitious Poem)

Adamu Danjuma
2 min readNov 20, 2020

I want to know if I can love you

Beyond what you can probably conceive.

I want to love you more than your beloved self.

You are my ballon d'or.

And my amazing parachute...

When I'm in the air.

Let me love all the butterflies in your tears.

I'm the rainbow in your palms.

And the flowers in your arms.

Be my prunella!

I'm your absolute cherisher.

And to my deliciously-cooked food

Go add an exceptional aroma.

I will no longer feel sleepy when you walk around my myriad of thoughts.

I'll go to the moon with your angelic picture.

I'll emit beams of light when I reach the stars.

I'll keep your name in the innermost part of my spinal cord.

I want my appellation to metamorphose itself in your distinguished personality.

I want your candor to circulate in my blood.

Could you please be my globins?

Hubby.

Pretty.

Lovebird.

You are more than a sapphire.

Do motivate me as a spur does to a horse.

I am agog of your infinite tenderness.

I bleed.

My blood is like coke.

Why do you use me as an item of joke?

Marvel me in your movies meticulously.

Truncate my being in your beautiful face with empathy.

Catapult my sweat in the dryness of your pillowcase.

Burn the remnant of my melancholic vociferation completely.

We are but a constellation of a romantic federation.

Call me your beloved brethren in the highest degree of attractiveness.

I'll clamour words of hope on your scintillating visage.

Let me learn the art of loving you while eating your sumptuous omelette.

I crave so much for your food.

And that's the truth.

Let me stay with you in the chicken.

My teeth will be the knife you'll use to cut meat and yam.

My saliva is like a river where you can get water to cleanse your plates.

You know the language of my belly and the sound of my intestines.

Put me under your tutelage.

Nurture my mind to recognize the aura of your cuisine.

I'm all yours.

Possess my lonely heart kept in the deserted land of Sambisa.

My legs are like two disjointed twigs.

My teary eyes stand taller than a palm tree between the present time and posterity.

Call me not a fool if you see me licking your lovely fingers irresistibly.

For me they are my sugar and candy.

I never knew the taste of soda.

Your cream was what I thought to be my butter.

If you don't see me again

Search me in the sky when it becomes too cloudy.

I'm gone with the wind.

--

--

Adamu Danjuma

Author of Les Larmes d'une Plume Esseulée, Adamu is a multilingual speaker & an emerging poet-writer. He's passionate about journalism & literature.