Good Night!

Adamu Danjuma
May 4, 2021

--

I thought that we have both

signed a contract to write

our own stories together?

Now that you have left me

unannounced like the rain

when it comes pouring its

limpid tears on our pasturage,

I see no other person to entice

me with tales told day and night.

You left me here thinking about

you and everything that looks like

your shadow under the sun when it

shines through the window of my room.

O, how then will I ever forget your name?

You made me feel special when, at various

occasions, I, by the naysayers, was laughed at.

For you, I am more when for them, I am not but

a grown-up folk who finds his happiness in the

depth of fresh waters and sumptuously cooked

meal.

May

you

find

solace

in

your

final

abode

high-up.

--

--

Adamu Danjuma

Author of Les Larmes d'une Plume Esseulée, Adamu is a multilingual speaker & an emerging poet-writer. He's passionate about journalism & literature.