Adamu Danjuma
1 min readFeb 12, 2021

Love: A Voyage Without You

Shall I be with you continually,
Till the very last breath of my soul?

When I depart from this world
To meet my Lord in the Heaven high-up,
Shed for me not sore tears of solitude.

Pray for me to find a paradisaic abode in the Hereafter.

Gather my thoughts in a place where my shadow and footsteps, and yours,

have once met!

Pose a bouquet of roses beside my bed.
Ornament my reading desk with books and smoke,

the smoke of my flame.
Lament not because I’ll be gone,
Never to return.

I want you to forgive me for the days I’d missed your calls when I was answering nature’s many calls.

When I'm no more,
Implore the Omnipotent on my behalf To cleanse my shortcomings with the infinity of His forgiveness!

I'll soon be forgotten,
I know. Before I leave you for my eternal voyage to answer the call

Of my Maker, find the remnant of my perfume in the clothes you bought for me on our wedding day.

Forgive me if you could not,
One day,
See my face again!

Anywhere I want to be,
Near or far,
Atop my heart,
Your name will be written
With razor and olive oil.

Adamu Danjuma

Author of Les Larmes d'une Plume Esseulée, Adamu is a multilingual speaker & an emerging poet-writer. He's passionate about journalism & literature.